Mistaken identity 

a house wife is mistaken for a figitive.

They say everyone has a twin. That is one of those statements that can be proven or disproven. I have no idea where it came from. There are always people who look like someone else. Your at the grocery store and you see someone you recognize. You go over and its not that person. 

I have been on the giving and receving end. I have had people come up to me. They Start a conversation only to reaoize i am not who they thought i was. 

Usualy it is momentary gaff. You laugh about it then move on. No harm no fowel. Then there are times when a case of mistaken identity has more lasting consequences. I had one of those. 

My mom had not planed me. She was at a concert and hooked up with a guy. She got pregnent with me. She decided to keep me. She never knew my dad’s name.  She knew nothing about him. She made no real atempt to find him. 

My mom and i lived in an apartment complex for low income family. She worked some part time jobs. She was not an amazing worker but she was not horible.

As a child i could be a handful but nothing too serious. I was just energetic. I was not a great student but i passed. My mom named me zoe .she needed a name. She saw thetheme zoe and went with it. I have no middle name.  I was zoe stevens. My mom wanted my legal name to be Zoe.  I had to have a last nane. So she gave me her last name.   

I did not plan to go to colege. I did the bare minimum to graduate from high school. I went and got a job. I was doing what my mom did. 

I became friends with a girl at work. She wore dreses or skirts all the time. She kept to herself.we hit it off despite our differences.  Katherine invited me to church. I decided why not. 

I felt out of place there. I wore jeens and a t shirt. They all welcomed me. Katherine made sure i was welcomed. I kept going. I answered an alter call after several months of attending. I grew in my faith. 

I decided to go to a Baptist colege. I took the one year program. I wanted to get to know the bible more and get exposure to ministry and be around Christians my age. While there i met Matthew.  

He was a senior. We met at a prayer group. The school set up prayer groups for students.  We hit it off. He was a multi generational christian. At least three generations were involve in some kind of full time Christian service. 

We went from acquaintance to friend.  He seemed to have a romantic interest.  She was like him. He and i had a spark. I adored him. I had a crush on him but i never thought it would happen. 

He shocked me by asking me to the end of year seniors banquet.  I said yes. I thought mayby i was a runer up. Stacy said no so zo will do. I learned that that was not the case. He realy liked me. After that i never left his side. 

We hung out the rest of the school year. He asked me if i wanted to be his girlfriend oficialy. I said yes. After he graduated and i conpleted my studies, i worked for a bit. He prepared for ministry.  

We got married.  He was called to pastor near wherehe grew up.  I got pregnent . i had a boy. I was a stay at home mom and pastor’s wife. I was busy home making and being involved in ladies ministry oficialy and unofficially.  

That beings me to the main story. The case of mistaken identity.  It was christmast eve eve.  We had put my boy to bed.  He was 13 mounths old as this point. I got undressed and put on a nightie. My husbend wore shorts to bed. 

We just hung out.  We Usualy cuddled and talked until one of us or both of us were almost asleep.  Matty turned off the light. I was just about asleep. Then everything changed.  

There was a knock at the door.  Who was hear at this hour? I thought. Matty told me to stay in bed.  He went downstairs and went to the door. “Hello.” he said “this is the police ” was the response. 

He opened the door. “Is there a young lady who lives with you? Five foot five dirty blond 135 lbs?” the officer asked. “That sounds like my wife. Whats this about?” he asked.  “We need to speak to her?” another officer said 

This officer was wearing plan cloths. He wore a suit and tie. Matt guessed that he was probably a detective. “I will get her” he said.  He invited them inside. There was five officers. Two wearing plain cloths. The rest were wearing uniforms.  

Matt went upstairs.  “Hunie the police want to talk to you.” he said. I had no idea why. I had never broken the law. I had no idea what this was about.i went downstairs.  I held his hand. 

“Are you elsa Collins? ” the detective asked. “Im zoe peaters. ” i answered. “A women named elsa peaters is wanted for murder in riverside iowa ” the detective said. He showed me her picture. She did look like me. 

“I have never been to iowa.” i said.  The muder accured four years ago. Apparently someone who lived in riverside at the time of the murder thought i looked like her.  She called the iowa sate police. Iowa police sent the detective who investigated the murder back then. 

“It is the day before Christmas eve. I don’t want you attempting to esape ” the detective said.” i am afraid i have to place you under arest on suspicion of being a fugitive from justice. ” the local detective said. 

Court was not in seison until after Christmas.  I would be spending the holidays in jail. “Look can at least kiss my son? ” i asksd.

They let me go into his room. I hugged him and kissed him. An officer was with me the whole time. They let me put on shoes and a coat. They put me in handcuffs.  I was taken to the cop car. 

I was taken to the police station. I had to go though a strip search. I removed my shoes. Then i took off my coat. A female officer looked it over. I had to remove the nightie. I was not wearing a bra. I removed my panties.  The officer did a rectal exam. 

I was finger printed.  There was a mug shot. The officers were going to have me stay the night in lockup. It was late. I was exhausted.  The detective from iowa insisted that i be taken to county lockup. The detective threatened to employ nuclear options unless they agreed. 

I had to change into a prison issue orange jumpsuit. I was taken by prison buss to a county jail. I had to go over processing again.i had to be examined by prison doctors. I was beyond tired at this point. 

“Do you know your pregnant? ” the doctor asked.  “No i did not. Are you sure? ” i asked. I was five weeks along.  Great i was heading to the big house in iowa and i have have a bun in the oven. 

I made it a cell. I colapsed. I was stuck there until at least after the holiday. The next day i had to go though a line up. The person id me as the person they saw fleing the crime scene on the night of the murder. 

I got to call maty. I told him to let ben open his present but he insisted on waiting.  We planed on going to see his family for Christmas.  He called and explained that we were not able to make it seing that i was in the hoosegow. My husband had to explain that it was a mixup. 

Christmas was long and boring. We got to eat what resembled turkey. It was realy weird looking and tasting.  Finally the nexy day i had a court appearance.  

I got to see matt. “Man! You do look realy sexy in that jump suit?” he remarked.”realy matty. ” i said. “Look zo i know your innocent.  This will clear itself up. ” he said.

“Matty. I have news. I am pregnant! ” i said.  “Oh wow. ” he said.”will you come to iowa if i amIextradited? ” she asked.”i will leave for Iowa when you are transported. I wont leave your side.  Where you go i go. I wont leave iowa until i can bring you with me. “He assured me. 

I was not aranged. This was simply a hearing to produce me. I was sent back to lockup.  The next day i was brought to the wardens office.

“Your fingerprints dont match the fingerprints of the accused. Your not elsa Collins.  We can account for your whereabouts in this sate at the time of the incident.  River side pd is rescinding there extradition request.  ” he said.

Matt picked me up. We went home. We had Christmas with ben. We went to see his fokes later on. 

The post incarceration was anazing. I wish i could have kept the jump suit. I kinda enjoyed experiencing prison brefly. I have a cool story.

I gave birth to a healthy baby girl.  We named her josie daniele. Her name came from Joseph and daniel. Both bible character’s who God bless in spite of persecution.  

The church was understanding.  They knew i had not done anything wrong.  I had got pass this incident. 

The end

I did not reserch prison or extradition. I may have goten things wrong.  

Leave a comment